The Spoon River College Board of Trustees welcomed new members and recognized outgoing trustees Wednesday during its reorganizational meeting on the Canton

The Spoon River College Board of Trustees welcomed new members and recognized outgoing trustees Wednesday during its reorganizational meeting on the Canton

Retiring Trustee Rusty Melhouse remarked he enjoyed the past six years which, he added, had gone by extremely quickly. He noted the highlights of the past six years, including the presidential search, the multi-purpose building and the new student housing complex, and praised the SRC staff for their efforts.

Melhouse ended by urging the trustees to work with trust and transparency and expressed his wish for “nothing but the best for the entire Spoon River College family.”

Outgoing student representative Josiah Williams thanked the board for giving him the experience of serving.

Williams also praised incoming student representative Resham Singh, Jr., saying he would be an excellent representative of the student body.

Both Melhouse and Williams were recognized with resolutions and plaques for their service.
Trustees elected to the board after the April 4 election included incumbents Dave Maguire and Phil Murphy and newly elected member Kevin Meade. The three were sworn in by SRC President Curt Oldfield.

Before the oath was administered, Maguire resigned his appointment to fill a two-year vacancy on the board caused by the resignation of former trustee Rick Klinedinst.

Trustee Murphy voted no on the resignation, noting his concern that Maguire, who had been on the ballot for the April election, should keep the two-year term he had accepted rather than accepting the six-year term so as to avoid any transparency issues.

Jerry Cremer was appointed to fill the two-year term term. Cremer had been on the ballot for the April 4 election and had received the fourth largest number of votes for the best of three race.

Both Cremer and Singh were sworn in as board members.

Board member Kent Schleich was chosen chairman of the board of trustees.

Gayle Strode Blodgett was elected vice chair and ICCTA representative, with Maguire as the alternate. Phil Murphy was elected as secretary.

The board also chose SRC CFO Brett Stoller as treasurer.

Registrar Janet Munson reported on recruitment of high school students within the SRC target market.

Of the 13 high schools in the target market, nine of them are in the SRC district exclusively, three are shared with Carl Sandburg College and one, Farmington, is shared with Sandburg and ICC.

The overall number of graduating seniors in these high school attending SRC has increased from 24 percent to 26 percent in the past year, while the number of college-bound students at SRC increased from 34 percent to 37 percent. The biggest gains were from the high schools in Lewistown and Rushville.

Munson said future plans to help increase enrollment from those high schools included increased presence in these schools, increased student to student recruitment and evaluation of student surveys concerning why they chose SRC.

In other action, trustees voted to approve purchase of a pump station for $28,500.

According to Stoller, the current pumps are still functioning but are also between 40 and 50 years old. Replacing them now would keep the college from the possibility of their failing and would also make maintenance easier.

Stoller also noted the gym floor of the new multi-purpose building had been painted and that there were some difficulties with water pressure at the new student housing site which need to be addressed.