LOUISVILLE…State Rep. Darren Bailey (R-Xenia) is proud of the young leaders coming out of his legislative district to serve this next year. Both the Illinois State FFA Vice President, Lane Harvey, from the Fairfield FFA in Wayne County and the Section 23 President, Coy Crull, from the Mt. Carmel FFA in Wabash County will provide leadership for the 2019 – 2020 term.


“I am very proud of these young men who have stepped up to lead this important organization,” said Rep. Darren Bailey, a member of the Agriculture & Conservation Committee. “During the Ag Day at the Capitol in March, I had an opportunity to meet many of these young leaders and am very impressed with their enthusiasm and knowledge of agriculture—our number one economic industry in Illinois.”


Lane Harvey, as one of the five statewide officers, is putting his collegiate pursuit on hold for one year as he serves the Illinois Association FFA. Officers typically travel more than 20,000 miles visiting FFA chapters around the state, conducting workshops and meetings, representing Illinois FFA in professional settings, and promoting agricultural education. Since 1929, Illinois has elected a State FFA Officer Team.


Coy Crull is one of twenty-five Section presidents working with Clay, Edwards, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash and Wayne Counties for the next year to promote agriculture and help develop leadership potential in himself and other FFA students at county fairs and schools around the area.


The Illinois Association FFA is part of the National FFA Organization, formerly known as the Future Farmers of America. More than 19,000 students are enrolled in 346 different FFA chapters in the State of Illinois. FFA is a national youth organization of nearly 670,000 student members with a mission of making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.


Visit www.illinoisffa.org for more information.